cannot be partitioned or restored to a single partition

potatok

Registered
Hi all,

I'm a newbie with bootcamp. I'm trying to install Fedora 6 on a Mini before I really do it on my MBP. After successful installation of Fedora, I went back to OS X and tried to see what would Bootcamp assistant tell me. I got the message "Your startup disk cannot be partitioned or restored to a single partion".

I wonder if it has anything to do with my partition scheme. After bootcamp assistant shrinked OSX, there's a little piece of free space between the OSX partition and the "Windows" partition. I deleted the windos partition and create my own Linux partitions, /boot, / and swap.

Any idea ?

potatok

Here's some relevant info from your BootCamp installation guide:
If you have already partitioned your disk using Disk Utility or some other utility, you cannot use Boot Camp Assistant until you restore your disk to a single-partition Mac OS X volume

According to your post, you originally changed the partitions with BootCamp, is that correct?
But, then you changed the formatting for your purpose of installing Fedora. So the partition setup is no longer recognized as one created by BootCamp.
If you now want to install Windows via BootCamp, you will have to restore the drive back to a single partition through the normal method, which means erasing the drive (you lose everything not backed up). iPartition software might help, but I don't know what that would do with the linux partition that you have now.

This is more like a bootcamp test run before I screw the MBP. I don't like Parallels because it is limited compared to VMWare. While I'm not sure why VMWare is SO DXYZ slow in rolling out the Mac version, I need to use Bootcamp to work on fedora/linux. The most important is whether I'll be resize the OS X partition back to a full-disk partition by the time VMware is REALLY ready.