CD-R discs. does brand matter?

PowermacG4_450

OS X Jaguar
Im wondering if brand matters (as far as quality goes), or are they pretty much all the same? I usually get imation discs, made by 3M... 50 of em cost's $23.

But, bestbuy has Maxell's, a 100 pack for $40.... with a rebate.

cost after rebate? $7.99!!!

didnt buy cause Ive never bough maxell before.... so, does brand matter?

thanks. :)

It does. You get what you pay for.
Some cds are dead in one year from when you burn them. So i suggest getting huge packs of 2 kinds of cds: those that need to last and that you do care for, the others for ordinary backups and things that you don't really care after 5 years if you can't read those anymore.

I've been using Memorex "Black" cds for 2 years with no problems. For quick, non important things I have some cheap Verbatiums.

i got memorex CD-RWs once and the data (foil like) part of the CD started peeling off. i've never seen a CD do that before. in anycase, i've got a 5 pack of memorex CD-RW (4 left) if anyone wants them for free. :D i use fujifilm DVD-R/RW and 3M CD-R/RW.

Brand does matter...
And my prefrences are in order:
- Sony
- TDK
- Memorex

Memorex for day-to-day burning, but when I can - I grab Sony or TDK for my more important archives and library.

-Verbatim. They never failed me even after years of usage. Even the Spindle packs!!!
-Sony
-TDK
-Plextor

Especially, the last 2 ones when used with their own CD-RWs devices are unbeatable... Anyways, in the question of does brand matters... The answer is a BIG YES :D

I have Memorex and Maxell CD-Rs and both companies work excellent for me. I have a few in my car for music and they stand up to the below-freezing temperatures overnight as well as the cold temperatures when I start listening in the morning on my way to school.

I like the Black Memorex ones. Scratches seem to matter less. they're about 25$ for 50. i've never had one go bad.

Originally posted by Sogni