Colleges

Trik

Registered
Hey,
I was just wondering I'm a student in High School and I'm starting to think about colleges , and I was wondering what Colleges are good for someone who wants to work with MACS mostly just a question.
Thanks
Andy

Really shouldn't matter in the leats truthfully. My colelge told me before I went that they didn't support Macs. This wording is kinda tricky as what they really mean to say is they don't provide any technical support for macs. Other than that the Mac was actually a helluva lot easier to get on the school network and all. I was able to do everything on par and possibly better thna many o the pcs in the school. In fact I discovered there was a sort of underground mac culture amongst the techies in the IT dept. They simply didn';t have the resources to support another platform in the hands of typical users. However if you know how to use your computer yourself, you hould have no problem.

Also a lot of colleges are more unix centric than naything else fomr what I've seen, at least fomr the network backbone and to some degree remote application services and what not. So Mac OSX is at home here to a degree.

You should probaly email the It dept of wherver you'e going beforehand just to be sure. I know busniess courses don't like Macs sometimes because we're "non-conformist" and engineering depts may not like Macs due to obscure old serial connecting physics equipment and all.

I go to Florida State University and they are very Mac friendly. Most of my professors use Macs over PCs and the campus is even wired for Airport support. Also, there are many Mac-only computer labs and the graphic design department uses G4 Powermacs. The bookstore here also really pushes Macs in terms of what to buy. So if you come to FSU, you can definitely bring your Mac too.
-Doofy