Compatibility between Office 2004 and 2003

jamike

Registered
Hi Everyone!

I was wondering what some of the steps would be to make my Office 2004 as compatible with 2003 as possible. I am a college student and I am having a lots of trouble with sending my documents (doc, xls, ppt, pps) to my professors and these showing up all messed up on their PC's. Would it help if I delete all my fonts and only install those defaultly used on a PC version of Office 2003? I feel like fonts are a big part of this problem. If the answer is yes, how can I do something like this?

Thank you.

Weird, i never had problems when i was at college. One option is to send PDF files, as they will come out ok.

If you have an Intel mac you could also get windows and parallels and run PC office on your mac. This is what I do (i just upgraded to Office 2007 actually).

I was wondering what some of the steps would be to make my Office 2004 as compatible with 2003 as possible. ... Would it help if I delete all my fonts and only install those defaultly used on a PC version of Office 2003? I feel like fonts are a big part of this problem. If the answer is yes, how can I do something like this?

Office 2003 is probably more compatible with Office 2004 than with another Windows version of the suite. Without access to your setup, the most likely explanation for your problems is fonts. Office is supposed to be able to embed fonts in your documents, but that is a waste of space. In your assignments, use only fonts which have been supplied by Microsoft.

So can I go ahead and delete all the fonts in the FontBook and copy the fonts from someone's PC? Won't it mess up the other applications on my mac?

Also, is there a way of expanding the toolbars in Office 2004? They have hidden buttons at the end and it's impossible for me to drag the corner of a toolbar to expand it. What's the point of this? They hardly cover 2/3 of my screen and it would be useful to see the whole toolbar since there is space.