Complete newbie lookin for a Mac

gnubie

Registered
Good day all,

I am new to this place and I have never owned an Apple computer (I have used them before back in the 80s that's how old I am!). I am looking for a new laptop and seriously considering getting the iBook G3 or PowerBook G4. I am from the Window$ community and looking to migrate away from them. Currently I have a PC desktop with a triple boot between WinXP/Win98SE/Mandrake Linux 8.1. I also have an ancient laptop with Win98 as part of a network. So the questions that I have are:
1) What can Macs do for me that Windoze can't do?
2) Why are Apple computers generally more expensive that PC based computers?
3) Is MAC OS X similar to UNIX? I believe so but tell me if I'm wrong. Does it have less functionality/features?
4) Is there a significant increase in performance between the G3 (high end) and the G4 (low end)?
5) Why are Mac computers performance rated lower than PCs yet cost more? Is it because of the software bundles that come with the computer?

That's generally it. Thanx 4 ne response! :)

I'm by no means a Mac expert so I'll give you the response any 'typical' Mac user would give:

1) I'll twist this one around a bit, here's some stuff Windows can do that Macs generally won't do: Crash, get infected with a virus, require reboots after avery day/software install, look ugly.

2) I think Apples are more expensive simply because they aren't mass-produced like the cheap PCs are. Also, you can consider the customer service, quality design and bundled software (iApps) as part of the up-front cost.

3) I really don't know anything about UNIX. From what I understand, OS X is much more like UNIX than Windows is. Heh.

4) Yeah. iBooks are great little laptops (the 500mhz iBook was my first Mac) and they do just about anything you need them to, except play games. G4's are, however, noticeably faster (I now own a 700mhz G4).