configuring php with mysql problem

dtra

Registered
hi all

i've searched the web and have seen people with similar problems, but no real solutions
i'm just a newbie with macs, but have had a few years experience using linux servers (nothing advanced but enough to get by)
i've installed mysql (64 bit) from the dmg provided by mysql.com (5.051 community edition), it's up and running
i've installed the apache web server from source (though i haven't really configured it yet)
but i'm having problems getting php to install (from source)
basically, i'm trying to set something up similar to what i've got running on dreamhost, so it will be a local test environment, i'm trying to set up a fast cgi php (basically a modified version of the script at http://wiki.dreamhost.com/index.php/Installing_PHP5) using php 5.2.6
Code:
./configure --prefix=/path/to/php5  --with-config-file-path=/path/to/php5
/etc/php5/example.com 
--enable-fastcgi --enable-force-cgi-redirect 
--with-libxml-dir=/path/to/php5 --with-freetype-dir=/path/to/php5 --enable-soap
 --with-openssl=/usr --with-mhash=/path/to/php5 
--with-mcrypt=/path/to/php5 --with-zlib-dir=/path/to/php5 --with-jpeg-dir=/sw 
--with-png-dir=/sw --with-gd --enable-gd-native-ttf 
--enable-ftp --enable-exif --enable-sockets --enable-wddx 
--with-iconv=/path/to/php5 --enable-sqlite-utf8 --enable-calendar 
--with-curl=/path/to/php5 --enable-mbstring --enable-mbregex 
--with-mysql=/usr/local/mysql --with-mysqli 
--with-pear=/path/to/php5/lib/php --with-gettext --with-imap=/usr 
--with-imap-ssl=/usr --enable-zip --enable-bcmath 
--with-pdo-mysql --with-kerberos

when i run configure, i get
Code:
checking for MySQL support... yes
checking for specified location of the MySQL UNIX socket... no
checking for MySQL UNIX socket location... no
checking for mysql_close in -lmysqlclient... no
checking for mysql_error in -lmysqlclient... no
configure: error: mysql configure failed. Please check config.log for more information.

in config.log
Code: