Copying a DVD

igirl

Registered
Hello, and thanks in advance for your thoughts on this.

I'm new to OSX but a long time Mac user...even would have considered myself above average techie until I got OSX which I find as obtuse as Windows. I've never burned a DVD before, but in O/S 10.4.5 new out of the box it seems no where as elegant as burning a CD in Toast on OS9 - drag and drop files, click "burn".

Now there is all this .dmg nonsense, iDVD doesn't burn anything unless it's input from a videocam and constructed from within the app, disk utility is devoid of any features or logical interface in the sense of drag and drop...then I do some searches and I read that I have to jump through all kinds of hoops just to do a simple copy of something.

Here's the scenario. I have a non-copyrighted movie DVD that i would like to make a copy of. (It even has a VIDEO_TS folder on it, but for sake of this discussion let's say maybe it didn't - is that now different somehow?) I can copy the contents of this DVD to a folder on my HD no problem, but I can see no way how to then copy/burn this data to another DVD. What's up with this?

If I bought Toast or Popcorn would things then work as elegantly as I expect them to for a Mac? Is the iMac G5 DVD burning capability stripped down to nearly nothing out of the box? Comments would be appreciated...

You can use Disk Utility for this.

1) Insert the DVD into your optical drive. When DVD player starts to play the movie, quit DVD player and proceed to open Disk Utility.

2) Select the dvd from the list of other disks.

3) Next choose File > New > "Disk Image from (name of disc)."

4) Then choose a destination, name the file, and I usually leave mine at compressed with no encryption and hit save.

5) After the image is made, eject the orginal dvd out of your computer.

6) Select the disk image, which should now be in disk utility's list, and click burn.