Copying files between users and privileges

DominikHoffmann

Registered
When I copy a file into another user's drop box, it retains my current account's owner and group information. That can be annoying to that user, because it might mean that he won't be able to delete the file from his drop box.

I would prefer that the Finder automatically change the owner and group informtion, when copying from directory to directory, when they are owned by different users.
 

DominikHoffmann

Registered
Originally posted by testuser
You will also need to make sure that the group has write permission for the file. You can do this manually for each file, or change your umask from the default 022, to 002.
How would I do that? -- Dominik
 
Top