Corel Draw

Akkarin

Registered
Why did Corel stop making Draw for the Mac? I really like it on the PC. I am new to Macs and thought this would be on the Mac.

What is the best alternative to Draw on the Mac? I know Draw well and have used it and it's vector drawing tools for years. Will I find it hard to switch over to another application.

Thank You!

Akkarin

Best vector based alternative is Illustrator. I found myself in a similar situation as you 6 months ago. my Uni taught me Corel Draw, but then I found no one used it in the industry, so I needed to learn something else.

It was a bit of a learning curve for sure, but now that I know Illustratotr I just dont know how I could use anything else. At first it seems like it is much more cumbersome and over-complicated compared to Corel Draw, but you can do much more complex things once you get the hang of it.

The way I learnt Illustrator was through a VTC.com video tutorial, but there are plenty of good books too, I just hate reading :p

camgangrel21 said:
try Photh shope.
Even if spelt correctly Photoshop isn't a vector-based graphics application. I'd, too, say go with Illustrator. There are basically two vector graphics applications used in graphics design around the world, and that's Adobe Illustrator and Adobe FreeHand (was Macromedia FreeHand before Adobe bought Macromedia). And while both applications have a big user-base, it is believed currently that Adobe will merge some of FreeHand's features into the next version of Illustrator, effectively killing the former competitor's product.

If Illustrator is too much and too big for you, there are some cheaper solutions. Some things may be achieved with OmniGraffle, for example, which is a very nice tool in its own, but might not do what you actually want.