creating transparent .gif

risu

Registered
I've been making pixel art for a 2D online rpg since 2003. The game's format is transparent .gif images, runs with Java. I've seen threads here where users provide an alternate file format, but this must be transparent .gif to work in the game.

In Windows, I always used a free program called Irfanview. It was simple and efficient. Now that I have Mac, it's difficult finding an equivalent program. I have so far tried Photoshop Elements 3, Preview, Pixen, and a few poor quality free programs that I deleted from my computer. I was ONCE able to save transparent .gif in Photoshop, but I haven't been able to do it twice, :confused: though I've tried all the possible combinations of 'save interlaced, save normal, exact pallete, etc.' they give you in the .gif menu.

So,
If anyone could provide me a link to a program that may work.. it's greatly appreciated.

If you have Leopard, I think X11.app is installed by default. IF it's anything older (Jaguar, Panther, Tiger), then you can install it from the installation disc for your Mac.

still, is there really no way to make transparent .gif without x11? seems like a pretty basic task to me.

GraphicConverter can do it. Select the part you want to make transparent, and then just select "Make Selection Transparent" from the Edit menu.

Photoshop can work, too. The key in Photoshop is to hide the background layer. That way the transparent parts of the other layer(s) will actually be transparent. I usually use the "Save for Web" option ot make gifs.

GIMP is your best choice for animated gifs, but otherwise it shouldn't be necessary.

GraphicConverter- I would rather not have to pay for a program to do this, also.. after i click "try it" a text file in Spanish pops up, and I'm not sure what it's instructing me to do.