Development platform advice

monktus

Registered
I'm developing a dynamic website that is based around a calendar system, that should also be able to talk to calendar apps. Ideally I'd like to be able to display calendars for various users on the same screen.

I'd assumed that this would be developed in PHP/MySQL as it's open source and I have a friend who's been working PHP based stuff. However I was wondering how WebDAV could fit into the picture and if there are other alternatives. Ideally I'd like to be able to do it on my own, or with minimal help, but I'm not really a programmer. I know Lingo pretty well and I've dabbled with PHP, JavaScript, AppleScript and Ada but apart from basic scripts, most of my experience is going in an editing existing stuff rather than starting from scratch.

I thought I'd may as well explore any alternative so I'm also (trying to) trying out IBM EasyWebsiteBuilder and ASP.NET for the hell of it. Basically I was wondering if anyone had any recommendations for a development platform, preferably as designer-cum-programmer friendly as possible. Ideally I'd like to stick with open source but time is also an issue so I'd be willing to go with proprietary stuff.

I know this might come across as me being lazy and trying to avoid learning more hardcore scripting but, as I said, it would be nice to be able to do as much of this project myself, as quickly as possible.

Cheers,
Craig

It really depends, there are a lot of things to consider when choosing a platform.

The reason a lot people use PHP/MySQL is because it is free, and they work so well together. However, when using straight PHP you end up doing a lot more work because you have to parse form data and there aren't any robust control libraries built in like there are with .NET. PHP Doesn't have the same 'Visual' ease as .NET does either.