dont know what im doing

storozuk60

Registered
ok im sure this question has been asked, but im new to mac just got my macbook today, have had pc for years. i looked to find the answer to my question but dont even know what im looking for. i have the mac os x10 and here is my problem. i downloaded and installed (at least i think i installed them) two programs, skype and msn messenger for mac. the problem is it created some type of icon on the desktop that will not go away. if i click on it it opens another window with 2 objcts if i click on the first one the program opens, the other is a short cut to the applications folder. and this has done it to me for both skype and msn messenger. they also appear in the dock where i want them, and as well the download manager thing in the doc keeps listing the .dmg files for both of these programs i try deleting them into the trash but it says i cannot delete them, something along those lines. if any one can help me i would love it as im loving the mac so far but not likeing these icons stuck on my desktop. thank you all in advance.
(oh and by the way dont have much time to search posts as well as im working with the military in qatar, and access is limited) thanks again

Normally when you download a OS X program, it is distributed as a .dmg file. Those files are disk images (you can make your own with Disk Utility), that when opened work like any other disk. Safari (and most other web browsers) open the disk image automatically when downloaded, but you can open it by clicking the file.

Also normally the programs are distributed by the .app file, which is the program itself. You drag and drop the file to Applications folder and then use it. Some distributions have also a file called Applications. It is actually an alias to the real Applications folder, so you can drag and drop the .app file there.