editing file/folder ownership

infinityBBC

Registered
something kinda kooky happened to me last night. i was logged into my own machine as admin, and i was transferring some pix from a digital camera. i saves the files inside a folder that i created on my desktop.

since i was doing this for a friend who has his own log in on my machine, i then decided i'd log out and let him log in and do his iPhoto cropping/editing on his account. i then dragged the entire folder into his Public Drop Box. i was prompted if i wanted to do this, as "i wouldn't be able to see the results" (or something like that). i assumed this was simply because i didn't have priveliges to open his drop box (which seems strange alone, since i'm an admin & he's not!). nevertheless, i knew i didn't need to see them later from my account, so i allowed the folder to go into his drop box anyway.

ok... the kooky thing... i logged out, and logged him in... the folder & files were there. the problem is that it won't let me move the folder/files out of that drop box! the ONLY thing it would let me do is copy the files (only) to another location, so i copied them to the desktop and all is good with the files, but afterward, i couldn't even delete the files residing in their created folder inside the drop box.

it kept saying i (my friend) didn't have enough priveliges to do this (move/trash). the next thing i tried was to change my friend's account to admin status. that alone produced no different error message. then, while his account was admin, i tried getting info on the folder/files and attempted to change ownership, since this seemed to be the only reason i was not allowed to do anything with them while logged into his account.

i'm assuming, if there is SOME way to change ownership i will be able to delete these files/folder. if anyone has any ideas about this, PLEASE let me know.