Eudora discontinued

chouhy

Registered
I've been using Eudora since 1991. I am very much used to its searching capabilities and the mailbox organization. Now is discontinued. They say they are going to evolve to a new software (Penelope) very close to Thunderbird.
I do not like Thunderbird.
I am considering switching to Mail. These are my questions:

a) Is possible to export/import all my Eudora Data to mail?
b) Eventually, can I export all data from Eudora (messages text, recipients and senders and attachments to a FileMaker Pro database?
c) Do the same with the Mail data so I can have a consolidated database in FileMaker Pro?
d) any other suggestion?

Yes, you can import to Mail. You should create Accounts first. That is enter your information about your email accounts. The first time you start up Mail, you will be prompted for that.

To import:
Open Mail, choose Import Mailboxes from the File menu, and follow the instructions that appear.

Here is a link that explains how to import your addresses:

http://docs.info.apple.com/article.html?artnum=25330

FileMaker Pro has a quick help site for importing here:

http://www.filemaker.com/help/MacTOC12.html

True the basic Mail search field doesn't handle the complexity of date ranges, so far as I know, and Mail doesn't have a labeling system like Eudora. For the latter, you might want to take a look at MailTags.

If your date range searches are more frequent, Mail will handle them fine via Smart Mailboxes, where date range is among the criteria you can use to create a mailbox. Otherwise, if you're searching Entire Message, you can combine search queries associated with all message fields (subjects, senders, message bodies, etc.) and quickly find what you seek.

Further, according to Mail Help (having searched for logic), when you search entire messages, you can refine your search by using logical symbols to represent "and" (&), "or" ( | ), "not" ( ! ), and parentheses. For example: