Explain Staff group

yandso

Registered
I am new to Unix and OS X server. I have seen that if you assign a user to more than one group the user must select one on log in. However if one of the groups is Staff they do not have to choose. What is the Staff group and can you create other groups like it?

I am new to Unix and OS X server. I have seen that if you assign a user to more than one group the user must select one on log in. However if one of the groups is Staff they do not have to choose. What is the Staff group and can you create other groups like it?

You may know something I don't but I have never seen you need to choose a group. If Apple has done that, they really screwed things up.

There should be nothing special about any group.

At what point are you asked to pick a group?

Your reply comes at a very good time. I have just answered my own question.
In workgroup manager if you assign a user to more than one group with a group number that is automatically assigned lets say in the 1000 range. When that user attempts to log in they will be asked to choose which group they want to log into. However if one of the groups Id number is (as far as I have tested) below 50, they will not be asked to choose a group and will get the benifits of belonging to both groups. If you look the default group that every new user is put into "staff" is ID number 20. I have just confirmed that you can create a group with a number under 50 and it will not ask you to choose between your groups, however I do not yet know if there are any adverse effects to doing this.

If the groups that they are assigned to are above 50 then they must choose which group they want every time.

I think you're confusing groups with share points. When you log into a Mac OS X server and you belong to more than one group, it doesn't matter. What matters is the shared folders called "share points" that have groups assigned to them for access.