external hard drive general questions

lujhu

Registered
I need to get an external hard drive so I can do a back up before upgrading to tiger.

1) Is it worth it to get a firewire drive or will USB be fine?
2) I'm pretty new with a mac...how exactly do I back everything up? I'd like to make it bootable, but the most important stuff (obviously) is my data.

thanks,
m

lujhu said:
2) I'm pretty new with a mac...how exactly do I back everything up? I'd like to make it bootable, but the most important stuff (obviously) is my data.

Firewire is the answer. Even firewire 400 is better than USB 2.0 on all dimensions except for burst speed--which doesn't matter. And, you will need a firewire drive if you want to boot from your external. Most, but not all, firewire drives are bootable. So, be sure you buy one that is bootable. If you want a firewire 400, my favorite is the LaCie Porsche design 250 GB (much bang for the buck). After getting your firewire external, you would want to format it Mac extended (journaled), partition it, and clone your internal to one of its partitions. I would use Disk Utility to format, partition, and clone your internal if you want to keep things simple. Others will recommend other software for these tasks. Disk utility does all these tasks very competently, but other software will do more.

Yes firewire for sure, Lacie has nice FW800 drives which come bundled with backup software.. also maxtor has firewire drives with one button backup utility, should check those out if you like easy backups.. If youre subscribe to .mac you have the backup utility from there.. Anyway most backup programs let you select what to backup and when.
I have lacies 250gb FW800 and its great, much faster than fw400 so thats what I´d recommend.

tomi

Get whichever ATA HD that takes your fancy. Optimal now is 200Gb with 8mb cache, I prefer Seagate Barracudas, after a techie told me how many Western Digitals and Maxtors just die.