g4 v g5

bikko100

Registered
I'm getting a MAC for my wife....shhhh....she doesn't know ;) Anyway...here is my delima. I live the PC realm and this is my first venture to the world of Macs. I'm a COMPLETE noob so my apologies in advance.

A couple of quick questions. I really appreciate all your help! :D

1: Dual g4 v. single g5?

2: If i wait till after the g5 is OFFICIALLY released do you think i'll still be able to purchase the dual g4 setup through MAC....as i'll be taking advantage of the educational discount?

3: what's the emulation software that allows you to run windows? Is it expensive?

1) What is your wife? A professional video editor?! :eek: If this is for home use, I would consider an iMac, an eMac or an iBook instead.
2) I should expect so, I'm not sure though
3) The biggest commercial one is Virtual PC (http://www.connectix.com/products/vpc6m.html). It used to be made by Connectix, but was bought by Micro$oft a few months ago.
RealPC (http://www.fwb.com/html/realpc.html) was discontinued, but development has recommenced recently.
Bochs (http://bochs.sourceforge.net/) is free-ware, but it is much slower and less developed than either of the commercial alternatives.
Hope to see you around!

Agreed...unless your wife isa hardcore power user, a 900mhz G3 iBook is gonna serve her well. Or get her a Powerbook.

...for power users right now. How long has iChat been optimized for 64 bit? ;)
I really don't see any need for non-power home users to have a 64 bit G5 right now. I think it would be too complicated for her, plus paying double the $$$$ for power that a home user will never tap into. :)

Powermacs aren't that complicated... You plug in the monitor and the keyboard and the mouse and press the button! If you can't handle that I really don't think you should own a computer :^)

Oh shut up, you're ruining it! ;)
Anyway, let's wait to hear back from this guy, then we can give some more "advice" :D