G5 vs. 17" PowerBook vs. 17" iMac

pensfan

Registered
I know this has been debated at other times, but I'm serously considering the purchase of either a low-end G5, a 17-inch PowerBook or a 17-inch flat-panel iMac.
Right now, I have a 500 MHz G3 iMac with a 20 GB hard drive and 1 GB of RAM. I have an external CD-RW burner (QUE!)
Anyway, I mostly use the computer at home, but I love the thought of the portability, which makes me lean toward the laptop.
But then I think that I could get the low-end G5 with a flat monitor and that's attractive.
And since budget is somewhat of an issue, the iMac with a SuperDrive and upgraded RAM is attractive for that reason.
I am a sports writer at a local daily newspaper and I host a radio sports talk show, so most of what I do on the computer is Internet, word processing and iTunes type of stuff.
Given all of that, any suggestions on which way I should go?
And, a second question, since the PowerBook comes with the 512 MB of RAM, is it worth the upgrade to the 1 GB that I currently have? I hate the thought of going backwards

For what you're using it for, even the iMac would be overkill. I just got one last week (upgraded from a G4 700 iMac), and it's FAST. For the kind of money you'd spend on the 17" PB/G5, you could get yourself an iMac AND an iBook.

Right now, I have a 500 MHz G3 iMac with a 20 GB hard drive and 1 GB of RAM. I have an external CD-RW burner (QUE!)

If I had that, I'd definitely consider an iBook 900mhz. It'd be a low-cost move-up.

What about an eMac? or even a low spec G4 Tower.

Yeah, they'd be an improvement over what he has now, but going from a desktop to a laptop is a greater change than going from a G3 to a G4 system, I say.

Give what you do;

I am a sports writer at a local daily newspaper and I host a radio sports talk show

I would definitely go portable with a PowerBook.