Going away to college, hoping to buy a Mac. Which do I need?

HCSwitch

Registered
Hello forum members, and thank you for your willingness to help. I am going to college next year :)D) and feel that it will be a good opportunity to switch away from Windows, which I have been using for many years. Games were a primary factor when purchasing my past three computers. However, I have not only outgrown computer games, but I feel that I spend far too much time on the computer and would prefer to spend this time interacting with humans.

For the most part, I will be running the following:

Macromedia Flash, Dreamweaver
Adobe Photoshop
Microsoft Office
Safari
iTunes

I had originally planned to buy the 17 inch PowerBook when it was first announced. Weeks later, the Power Macs were re-priced and I wanted a Power Mac with a 20 inch cinema display. Today, I began to think more realistically that both of these systems are far too expensive for how I plan to use them. I am now considering the cheaper Apple computers, but unfortunately have little experience.

How will the iBook and (new) iMac run with this software? How much RAM would you recommend, assuming that I may need to run a few of the above programs simultaneously? I am not concerned about things such as the amount of time it takes Photoshop to filter an image, but I would like to be able to multi-task without noticeable lag. Upgradeability is of little importance. Portability is unneeded, but would of course be nice at times. If I do purchase a laptop, it will most often be used with a full-sized keyboard and mouse.

What do you recommend? If you need more information, please let me know. When considering prices, please note that I will be receiving the educational discount which I believe is nearly 10% off. Price is not the biggest issue, but I do not want to waste money either. And finally, is it possible to purchase the 17 inch iMac without the Super Drive? I hope so.

Thank you very much for your time!