Have I been hacked?

kalantna

Registered
First off, I went against recommendations and was logged into my system as the root user. Bad idea, yadda yadda. Because I do not have a zip drive yet I had to enable file sharing to log onto my computer from another mac on the network with zip so I could transfer the files needed.

I got back to my computer (forgetting to turn file sharing off) and started working. After about 15 min. my screen went blue and I couldn't do anything. When I restarted the startup screen appeared minus the "Welcome to Mac OS X" messages. Still had the status bar and graphic though. It wouldn't boot into the system completely. I finally had to reinstall OS 10.1.2 (I was on 10.1.5). After reinstalling I decided that I would disable the root user so I went to System Prefs> users to set my self up with an admin account. Once there I discovered a new user called sendmail in the list.

So, I ask was I hacked? Keep in mind I'm a Unix newbie so I don't know all the protocols yet.

Protocol says: Don't be logged in as root. I don't believe you were hacked. Sendmail is a 'user' itself. In Terminal 'finger sendmail':

[whatever] fryke% finger sendmail
Login: smmsp Name: Sendmail User
Directory: /private/etc/mail Shell: /dev/null
Never logged in.
No Plan.

"Shell:" tells you whether the user can login via SSH/Telnet. /dev/null would mean no, as the user won't get a prompt. Sendmail is a mail-server daemon on your system, and no: 'daemon' isn't something bad. :p

you could also open up a terminal and type "last" to determine who has ecently logged into your machine.

it *wouldn't* only appear after the incident, i believe. it should be there from the beginning. also, a system update like 10.1.5 could change some things around in the netinfo user database.