HelloCocoa problem

retrotron

thinking is design
I'm trying to run a simple HelloCocoa class, but I'm running into troubles. For simplicity's sake, I've got the @interface, @implementation, and main( ) in main.m. I compile with
Code:
cc main.m -o prog1
in the terminal and I get this error:
Code:
ld: Undefined symbols:
.objc_class_name_Object
.objc_msgSend
Can somebody tell me what I'm doing wrong?

Here's the contents of main.m:
Code:
// a basic class

#import <objc/Object.h>
#import <stdio.h>

// --------- @interface ------------- //

@interface HelloCocoa: Object {
  int someVar;
} 

- (void) print;

@end

// --------- @implementation -------- //

@implementation HelloCocoa;

- (void) print {
  printf("\nHello Cocoa...mmm...yummy.\n");
}

@end

// ---------- try it out ------------ //

int main (int argc, char *argv[]) {

HelloCocoa *cupOfCocoa;

cupOfCocoa = [[HelloCocoa alloc] init];

[cupOfCocoa print];

[cupOfCocoa free];

return 0;

} // end main()

I'm still really new to programming in objective-c (literally just started yesterday) and haven't touched C or C++ in about 2 years, so please forgive me if I am wrong.

Looking at your code, I see (what looks like) a syntax error in your main.m file. Your line "HelloCocoa *cupOfCocoa;" should probably be "HelloCocoa * cupOfCocoa;"

Or better yet, just combine it with the next line to get "HelloCocoa * cupOfCocoa [[HelloCocoa alloc] init];"

Hope that helps.

Looking at your code, I see (what looks like) a syntax error in your main.m file. Your line "HelloCocoa *cupOfCocoa;" should probably be "HelloCocoa * cupOfCocoa;"
:rolleyes:
No, that's not the problem. The * simply means that cupOfCocoa is a pointer to an object of kind HelloCocoa.

The reason you are getting that error is because you need to include ObjC!
Check any Apple example for the right command-line sintaxis (or just use Xcode ;) )

Hmm...thanks for the replies, I just started learning yesterday too. :)