[Help]How to install snow leopard in a new HD

lucrabbit

Registered
The installation drove me nuts these days, tried numerous times but still couldn't figure out what went wrong. BTW I am new to Mac

Configuration: MC118LL 09 June Unibody 15" Internal HD Fujistu 250G
Want to replace the internal one with a Hitachi 320G 7200rpm HD (7K320) or 320G 5400 rpm (5K320)

Here is what I did:
1. Format the 7K320 in an external enclosure with Mac OS X extended (journal), GUID selected, as I couldn't partition/erase the 7K320 while it's installed internally (error msg. couldn't unmount the HD)
2. Replace the internal original HD with 7K320
3. Boot from DVD and install SL to 7K320, installation failed at the beginning (stopped at sth. like 40min left, should be around 30min. I guess), tried several times, no luck.
4. Put 7K320 back to the external enclosure, boot from DVD and install SL to the external HD, it worked (could boot from the external HD, so I guess my HD works). When I put 7K320 back to the internal bay, my MBP stopped at the spinning gear during start. (Disk utility could find the parameters of 7K320 were correct: SMART verified, GUID correctly displayed)
5. Tried with another HD 5K320, symptoms were exactly the same, so I guess I must be wrong somewhere

Really don't know what to do, had to put the original HD back, and spent over ten hours on this already. Could anyone offer some help here?

Many many many thanks!!!

Just add one more test result:

The 7K320 can boot Snow Leopard from an external enclosure, and everything works fine in the newly installed SL. But it just refuse to work in the internal bay... ...

Any thoughts here?

Could be the HD cable. Its that new just make sure to put in the original Apple drive and let Apple deal with it. You may not want to mention you were replacing the original drive because I've seen situations like that where Apple has voided the warranty over it.

Thanks.