HELP: Quitting In Middle of Software Update

Amie

Mac Convert for Life
I hope someone can answer my question: I installed two Apple software updates (iTunes and Security Update). They finished installing with the little check marks beside them, and then it showed that my computer was "Optimizing HD" and it was taking FOREVER. I know my iBook and it NEVER takes THAT long to run/install software updates. It was CRAWLING. I sat here for an HOUR watching the percentage go from 74% to only 83%. Something was VERY WRONG. So, I restarted my computer before it was finished optimizing. I did a permission repair and ran the cron scripts and then ran OnyX, just to be safe. Everything on my computer seems back to normal pace now, and everything seems to be working fine. When I go to System Preferences and click on "Installed Updates," both iTunes and Security Update show that they were indeed installed. However, I see the iTunes update in System Profiler (in "Applications"), but I do NOT see the Security Update.

Three questions:

1. Should I be seeing Security Update in System Profiler or is it located somewhere else?

2. Was restarting my computer in the middle of optimizing a major no-no or no big deal?

3. Did my computer finish optimizing the HD in the background after I restarted? I've read that Mac OS X does this whenever necessary, so I guess quitting/restarting before it was finished after the Software Update was no big deal?

If anyone can help me out here, I would be SO thankful! I'm really worrying here, because I've never had to quit/restart in the middle of a software update before, and I'm afraid that, even though everything seems to be fine, I've ruined something or I'm missing something that will show up later.
 
Oh, come on! Anyone? Anyone? Bobw, Lt. Major ... where ARE you guys???

By the way, in addition to my original post, I should tell you that after all that happened, when I checked the Software Udpate again, it told me that my software is up to date. But WHERE is the Security Update that I installed???

Did I screw my computer over by doing all that, or am I OK? Did my HD get optimized, anyway?
 
If you quit during "optimizing system", then you're fine, just Repair Permissions from Disk Utility to finish the job.

The security updates contain many small files that update applications and system parts. It's not stored in any one place.

In short, nothing to worry about.
 
Back
Top