Help! Wanna install KDE but how?

Hype.it

Twiggy
When it comes to X11 and other commands i'm a complete novice, so be gentle.

Currently Apple's X11 have already been installed, dunno know why? Do i need this? Can I remove it? and how?

I played around with KDE in the pass on a linux box, i heard it's possible to install on a Mac but haven't any clue as to how or what i need. Outta curiosity I recently visited kde.org and under their guidelines i should install Xfree86. So i downloaded XFree86 version "Darwin-ppc-7.x" on running "sh Xinstall.sh" i get questions about making backup and stuff...

Welcome to the XFree86 4.4.0 installer

You are strongly advised to backup your existing XFree86 installation
before proceeding. This includes the /usr/X11R6, /etc/X11
and /etc/fonts directories. The installation process will
overwrite existing files in those directories, and this may include
some configuration files that may have been customised.

If you are installing a version different from 4.4.0, you
may need an updated version of this installer script.

Do you wish to continue? (y/n) [n]

So now i play safe and said No.

Aborting the installation.

Now, this is completely beyond me. Like i said, Unix is new to me. Anyone like to shed some light and offer a step by step help or guide?

Thanks in advance.

The easiest way to get KDE running on OS X is to use fink. Head on over to http://fink.sourceforge.net and download it. Fink is basically a package manager for OS X and it allows you to easily install UNIX software like KDE, taking care of all the dependencies for you.

Once you have fink installed, the easiest and quickest way to get KDE up and running is to type in the following commands
Code:
sudo apt-get update
sudo apt-get install kde
Sit back and let fink do the rest.

FinkCommander can install Xfree86 for you if I remember correctly, but I am not sure this is the best way to go.