hole in tft-screen : will screen still work?

arri

Registered
sorry, i know it's a strange question, but i have no idea where to ask it..
will the screen still work when drilling a hole in it?

i need to know, and don't want to just risk damaging a screen when it's just not possible and finding out the expensive way.

maybe someone else already tried this..

arri

yes, ON purpose and WITH a purpose..
and if i will ruin it, is what i want to find out..

how do you know? have you tried?

ok, enough with the secrecy - why on earth do you have a PURPOSE to drill a hole in your screen?

It's not like wood or metal where the portion being removed is just material, a display is lots of circuits, wiring, circuit board, etc all coming together as one thing. a dead pixel is one thing, REMOVING those pixels, and whatever circuitry is behind them will almost gaurantee you'll kill teh display. I don't see how it could survive, but not being an electrical engineer, I won't say 100%

ah, what the heck, it's not my screen - go for it! let us know how it goes.

:rolleyes: :confused: :p

If you drill into the LCD itself the Liquid part of the Liquid Crystal Display will leak out and it will quit working. So yes, regardless of any other concerns it will kill it. If you just mean the case well then if you don't hit anything...

I plead ignorance, so forgive me if I'm incorrect,
but arri mentioned it was a TFT - isn't that different from a LCD?

again, I don't know the facts, but just pointing out the semantics.

Most items that attach to a screen or monitor (paper holders, web cams, filters, etc.) will use some kind of adhesive to hold in place. Some could be magnetic. If you have some device that requires drilling a hole for mounting, then you have something that should not be used around a display. Don't attempt this! As others have said, a hole in an LCD would be death to the LCD. Drilling somewhere close means you risk hitting the wrong spot.