How to copy files from a CD onto Mac

centime

Registered
Should be simple but seems out of my abilities. I'm a 20 yr vet of Windows from 3.1 to Vista and am stumped. I can not move a file to my Mac from a CD. I began by trying to move a voice file my meditation instructor had made for her new students and discovered that was not possible. It is not copy protected just a home made CD with her voice on it, though she does have some chimes behind her voice.... so I guess it could be called "music". When I inserted the CD it opened and played but there was no way to copy it.
I then tried to open and save to HD a word processing file (MS Word) and it promptly refused to open and would not eject. I had to shut down the iMac and start up again then use a paper clip to manually force the CDRom to eject the disc. There is Microsoft Word on this Mac so I thought the file would at least open.
I need all the help I can get at this point... please!

If the disc is CD-Audio, then you can import it into iTunes. Just open iTunes, choose the CD in the source list on the left, put in whatever names you want the tracks to have, and hit Import. There are other CD-Audio importing tools available, too.

If, on the other hand, it is just a data CD with an audio file, you can simply drag the file from the CD to whichever folder you want to store it in (or the desktop).

As Symphonix stated, you should be able to import music into iTunes. If you put this CD into a stereo, will it play it? If it does, then it is probably a genuine audio CD. If it is genuine audio CD, iTunes usually launches immediately. Have you disabled this feature?

When you played the song on your computer, what program was playing it? iTunes?

As a test, put in a regular music CD purchased from a store and see what happens. Try to import some of that music into iTunes.