How to Install OS 9, then OS X

LXXVI

Registered
Hi. I just bought a mac out of the paper. It's a G4 350mhz Sawtooth with 640MB RAM (which, I think some may be bad because it locks up all the time). I've never had a Mac before, so I'm new to all this.

When he gave it to me, it had a fresh copy of OS X installed. He also gave me many CDs with software on it. He gave me a CD that shows up as Powerbook G4 Restore CD which, if i hold C when I boot, it boots into OS 9.

I've found out that when I try to install some of this software, it tells me it needs to go into classic, which isn't installed. So, my question is:

How can I install Classic with this CD as well as have OS X on this machine?

Classic use's the OS9 system folder, so just whack the OS 9 CD into your drive, boot while holding down the C key, when you get to the os 9 desktop, a window should popup and one of the icons is 'Install OS 9'.

Lunch that, and it should guide you through installing OS 9.

Now then... once thats all done and dandy, boot into OS X (Hold down the X key on boot just to make sure =)

Apple->System Pref's->Classic-> Select the OS 9 System Folder , and hit Start'.

Voila!

If OS9 won't install, the prior owner might have
formatted the HD for OSX without installing the
OS9 HD drivers. Then you'd have to start all
over again -- erase & install AND check the box
that says install OS9 drivers.

mr_x said:
Classic use's the OS9 system folder, so just whack the OS 9 CD into your drive, boot while holding down the C key, when you get to the os 9 desktop, a window should popup and one of the icons is 'Install OS 9'.

Lunch that, and it should guide you through installing OS 9.

Now then... once thats all done and dandy, boot into OS X (Hold down the X key on boot just to make sure =)

Apple->System Pref's->Classic-> Select the OS 9 System Folder , and hit Start'.

Voila!