HP LaserJet 1100 compatibility?

nkuvu

Gone
I am in the process of becoming a Mac person. AKA, I'm a mac newbie, especially since I don't have my own mac yet. (Flat panel iMac is, strangely enough, not shipping yet)

For my Windows box, I have an HP LaserJet 1100. I have ordered a cable which will convert the LaserJet's parallel connection to a USB connection.

Does anyone have experience with this printer and OS X? Specifically, I'd like to know if I will be needing to write my own print drivers. :p No, I doubt I could do that. But is the LaserJet supported by OS X? Where could I go to find out?

I went to HP's website. Oh my dog (dyslexic non-offensive word there :) ), that website is poorly organized. I spent an hour looking for a printer cable. The site is almost as bad as (shudder!) Microsoft's pages.

Can I shut up now? Yep.

Well, considering that no one has replied, I'll take that as a no. :(

I sent email to HP, and they said
Hewlett-Packard does not provide a printing solution
to utilize the HP LaserJet 1100 Series printer with a
Macintosh computer or as a PostScript printer. There
is no PostScript (TM) upgrade kit available for this
printer.

Third party vendors have developed software products
that convert files from the standard PostScript or
QuickDraw that the Macintosh uses into PCL or raster data,
which the HP LaserJet 1100 printer understands.
However, these translator drivers may have limited features
and functionality that do not allow them to take
advantage of the printer's features. Future driver upgrades
are subject to availability from the third party
manufacturer.

Great. So I have a printer, and I can connect it to my Mac, and OS X even says "Yep, it's a LaserJet 1100". But I can't print to it. (I tried on my roommie's iMac)

Anyone know of third party vendors so I can use my printer?

(crickets chirping.....)

Hello? Anyone read this thread....?