iMac - To Buy or Not To Buy - Plus new Intel Core Duo

Mat

iSmell
Hi

Lately I have seriously been thinking about buying a new 17" iMac, my 14" 700 MHz iBook is getting a little outdated and not giving me the performace I would like.

First of all I was just after any opinions on whether the new iMac is a good purchase. I did a degree in Multimedia, so all I use is a mac, but since my degree I have lost touch with the Mac world, and this forum, for that matter.

A few days ago I had a look at the Apple site and all was fine I knew that if I bought this new iMac all my apps would work and so on. Today I had another look and there is this Intel Core Duo chip in it. That doesn't bother me, but I have read that my apps may not work now. Does anyone know whether Photoshop CS, Macromedia Suite and Office will work on this new chip?

Thanks

Mat

Rosetta (the software that allows PPC software to run on the new Intel Macs transparently) will help you in this part. Steve Jobs tested Photoshop PPC and said that performance was good enough for everyday users, but high end users might notice a bit of a slowdown. But all of your older apps will work.

The other good news is that all the major software companies, including those that make the soft2ware that you're asking about, will make universal binaries available for today's apps and will also have a trade-in program if you want to switch to the universal binary version. Today's upgrade of iTunes and QuickTime (which weren't really mentioned during the keynote but are there) are actually universal binaries (I checked myself :)).

I say go for the Intel Core Duo iMac. Test drive it over the weekend once the Intel iMacs are at the Apple Store so that you can get a feel for the new system.

That's good news. Thanks a lot nix. You seem to answered it, but please feel free anyone else to add your opinions/ideas.