Iphone App Needed

pedz

Registered
I've cruised a little bit but I thought I would ask.

In the company I work, I can get mail in the Mail application on my iPhone but not via the Mail.app application on my Mac. The iPhone uses Exchange. I've tried to do the same steps on my Mac. The company says it will not work and, sure enough, I can't get it to work.

Fine.

So, what I'd like is an app on my iPhone that would wake up every 15 minutes and move mail from one folder on one server to another folder on a different server. The same process that a person can do by hand -- except I want it automatic.

So far, I've not found an app that does this.

I am a developer, I know javascript, Ruby, C blah blah blah. I have no fear of learning Dash (is that the name of it?) but I do rather dread coming up to speed with the developers tools (XCode) on the Mac. Plus, I don't know for sure that an app on iOS can drive another app. e.g. the same concept as the Automator on the Mac. Or if the Mail application on the iPhone can be scripted.

Does anyone have a suggestion for an existing app to try? Or a suggestion on how to get started writing my own?

Have you asked one of the guys in your work IT department for advice?

As best I can. This is giant-mega-corp. We have a "help" desk which doesn't help in this case. I am asking on some internal forums we have. I'm not the only person in this boat. So the only replies I get on the internal forums is "Please let me know if you figure this out!" type of thing.

I plan on spending some part of the day today understanding why an iPhone can connect via Microsoft Exchange but a Mac can not. I hope to sniff the packets going back and forth but I believe everything will be using https so I won't be able to see much.