iPod wrecked startup drive

steven_lufc

Registered
Hi there

I just got my 40gb iPod today, and amidst all the excitement I seem to have wrecked my main startup disk.

I transferred my entire 18gb iTunes library to my iPod via firewire and the dock. All went ok. I left the iPod charging for about half an hour on the dock while I was away from the mac, and then I started playing with the ipod, listening to tunes etc. I then decided that whilst I was listening to it, it might as well still be charging, so I put it in the dock whilst it was playing. My iMac did not like that. The macs drive started making an awful clicking sound, and when I tried to restart from the menu bar it wouldn't. I eventually pressed the reset button on the side. I also removed the ipod firewire cable. The mac won't now boot up. I zapped the pram, but no use. I tried to start up in single user and fsck, but it wouldn't. I used disk utility from the install disk to repair drive but no use. It came up with the following message:

Repairing disk for “disk0s9”
Checking HFS Plus volume.
Invalid B-tree node size
Volume check failed.

Error: The underlying task reported failure on exit (-9972)

Repair attempted on 1 volume
0 HFS volumes repaired
1 volume could not be repaired

The worrying thing is that the drive was called 'Panther', not 'diskOs9'. It won't mount and there is no info about it ie folders, files etc.

I managed to restart on my other partition by holding down the 'alt' key and startup and selecting new startup drive. I am now at a loss as what to do to either fix it, or rescue my data before doing a clean install. I'm just about to try techtool pro 4. Fingers crossed:)

Any ideas on how to fix, and what caused this in the first place

Thanks in advance

sorry forgot to say, my imac is a 600mhz G3, 768mb RAM, 40gb HD (2 partitions:30gb Panther, 10gb Backup) and running 10.3.2

Don't worry about the disk being called disk0s9, that is just the unix 'name' for that drive.