Is it possible to load a HTML file in an area centrally located on a web page?

patrean

Registered
Hi all
Is it possible to load a HTML file in an area centrally located on a web page which can be scrollable. The idea is to have a list of items that I can update easily. At the moment I have a list of 10 items per page with a 'next' and 'previous' button to load the additional pages. Each item has an image and a short description with a text link. The problem is I have 100+ items and if the client wants to add a new item into the list I have to redo all the pages as the items are ordered alphabetically. I could get around it by having all 100+ items on the one page but this is results in a page too long. Now I know this should be done using a DB but the project has a limited budget and I'm basically a designer and not a programmer. I'm keen to learn and would appreciate any help. Btw I'd rather not use frames.

Thanks

What you need, my friend, is a database and some asp or php programming to implement your data to the web. It's much more easily editable. ;)

A MySQL database and a small amount of PHP would really help you loads here. Most webservers*should have this built into them. You can even install it on your mac if you're using that as your server.

But if you don't want to do that, I'd really say that a frame inside a table cell set in the middle of you're page is going to be the best bet.

Don't ask me exactly how to do it. It'd take me quite a bit of messing around - I always hated the UI side of programming, give me some backend PHP to do anytime lol.

Or, if it's not a lot of text and pages, just use PHP to include parts from other file(s). No need for messing with a DB that way.

yeah, I agree with mdnky; if you're not crazy about going beyond HTML, learning PHP/ASP *and* an SQL is an awful lot.