Is Permissions Repair STILL Necessary In Today's World?

Amie

Mac Convert for Life
I have been repairing permissions via Disk Utility for the past 8 yrs....... well not CONSTANTLY! LOL When I had my old iBook G4 and running Panther I was told to repair permissions periodically and ESPECIALLY before and after installing software, so that's what I've been doing. NOW........ I got this new MacBook Air (whooooo!) and running Snow Leopard. I know a lot of things have chanced since the old Panther days and I'm just wondering is running permissions repair still a good idea every now and then and before/after installing software..... or just a waste of time and computer energy?

Please share your thoughts on this..........

Thanks,
Amie :)

Depends. If you keep you mac on all the time then no. Then log rotation cron job is now in launchd. However that is little deeper than you probably would like.

To see is logs are boing turn open /Applications/Utilities/Terminal and copy this code:
Code:
ls -al /var/log/*.out

Then hist the return button. Is will print out something that looks like this:
Code:
-rw-r--r--  1 root  wheel  1252522 May 23 11:57 /var/log/daily.out
-rw-r--r--  1 root  wheel     5146 May 23 11:57 /var/log/monthly.out
-rw-r--r--  1 root  wheel     8091 May 23 11:57 /var/log/weekly.out

Then date shows when the log was rotated. Don't worry I manually brought them all to date earlier this morning running my 3 month system maintenance. Also with this new air follow the steps in the Apple document Apple Portables: Calibrating your computer's battery for best performance & Your New Notebook. Follow these steps to get the best out of your battery.