Looking for a good shooter, multiplayer game...

kafene

Registered
I've been playing StarCraft Broodwars for a few years now and I'd like to try something else now. I want a good multiplayer first person shooter game. Is Ghost Recon what I'm looking for? I tried a demo of Unreal Tournament 2004 and it just wasn't for me. I'm looking for something more like "Counter Strike-ish".

What games should I consider for my Mac OSX machine? (BTW, I have a dual 1.25 w/ 1.5 Gigs of RAM. I sure hope I don't need more than that?)

Thanks!
kafene.

Truley a fantastic game! Forget Halo - This and Ghost Recon are my all time Favs now. Its well worth the £45 i payed for it, even if i was getting ripped off in John Lewis.

Ghost Recon is a great game, me and my brother and friend play it from time to time, but the one that we really love is Medal of Honor.

It is a very addictive game that we never seem to get tired of playing.

Rainbow Six does look pretty enticing as well. :)

I know you tried Unreal 2004 (maybe you meant 2003? didn't know they have a 2004 demo for mac). But try the classic Unreal Tourny, it rocks!

Some oldies but goldies (although no tactical shooter stuff like CS):

Quake 3 Arena
Doom II <-- uber-old, but is fun to play it every once in a while. ;-)
Unreal Tournament (or maybe the newer Version, Unreal Tournement 2003)
Halo <-- great multiplayer game, is fun as hell

There's a mod for the original Unreal Tournament called Tactical Ops, which is basically to UT what CS is to Half-life.

Have yet to try Rainbow Six on Mac, but it rocks on the X-Box. Unreal's good, though I still have fond memories of staying up all night playing Marathon marathons on the Macs at work with co-workers.

Randman said:
Have yet to try Rainbow Six on Mac, but it rocks on the X-Box. Unreal's good, though I still have fond memories of staying up all night playing Marathon marathons on the Macs at work with co-workers.

Marathon...haven't played it for quite a while.