ls - wildcards and global use

ropers

Registered
Hiya,

I want to list all files missing a certain pattern and/or filename pattern on the entire drive.

In DOS I would type (for instance):

dir \t*.doc /s /a

which should find all doc files whose filename starts with `t'.

How to I do that in a unix shell. Can it be done w/ ls at all? I don't seem to succeed, and yes, I've read the man pages, but either I don't understand them correctly or it's not doing what it's supposed to do. For instance: I've tried: ls -AFR com.* from root dir, and it doesn't find stuff in subfolders.
(Ok, you got me, I'm a unix newbie.)

uses:
Mac OS X
tcsh

I'm looking for a solution that would work with most shells, sh, csh, tcsh, bash, you name it.

Also, the man pages frequently mention I can press tab or esc x 2 for choice/filename/dirname completion, but that doesn't seem to work on my (default Mac OS X terminal) tcsh either?

cheers,

the rop

Originally posted by gumse
find / -name "t*.doc"

Hm, alroight. Cool. But what's the story w/ ls -R? I don't really get it why it doesn't seem to recurse subdirs as that is what it says it does?

Learn find. It's syntax is somewhat arcane, but it's a very powerful tool and you won't regret spending the time to learn it. There are few things you can't do by piping the output of find into xargs. :)

The biggest thing about using wildcards with programs is to understand how those wildcards are expanded. If I'm in a directory with the files file1, file2, file3 and I do ls f* what actually happens is the shell I'm using will expand that f* PRIOR to passing arguments to ls. If you try to get fancy, like ls -R f* thinking it will find all files, recursively, starting with f, you'll be surprised since the shell is expanding the wildcard. Hence the actual ls command becomes ls -R file1 file2 file3 which lists file1, file2, and file3 recursively (which is kinda pointless, since they're files, but would work as expected if they are directories).