MAC OSX/OS10.1 Desktop Pictures

nbok123

Registered
Does anyone know where I can get the desktop backgrounds that come with OSX and OS10.1? Would anyone be willing to send them to me. Tried searching..no luck.

Thanks alot
-Nick

One feature that I wanted to see in the new OSX (OSX 10.1) was the "Active Desktop" feature of the PC computer.

I know, I know, PC sucks... but we copy off them, they copy off us, can't we all just get along?

The feature is a great way of displaying an active website on your desktop. I used a pc for a while and loved that feature.

As a web developer, I would love to start creating "active websites" which would be customized to be on the desktop.

Talk about easy "Theme changing" -- with a website that wouldn't be a problem at all.

The web has become such a big pard of using a computer, why not bring it to the desktop.

I know not all computers are online all the time, but a growing number of people are. Software companies (like Adobe) assume that you're online or have an internet connection for registering their software.

Just a thought... what do you think?

Those pictures in that category aren't the default pictures that come with Mac OS x.

Also, re: active desktops - then people could execute malicious worms right from the finder just like Windows!

That's a great point. One I didn't really think of.

However, if I select the website to be posted, and was viewing it from my browser, wouldn't that be the same thing?

It could be a freestanding app. but it would act as the desktop...

All it would be is a browser behind the icons... couldn't we accomplish that?

//evildan™

Originally posted by Trip

So that's why they call you evildan. :D

Yeah... Actually I WAS working at a authorized Mac dealer when I got that nickname.

It wasn't becuase I once used a PC's though :)