MacOs X and 2906 scsi card

jomaan

Super Bull
Hello people!!
I'm new in OsX use, and Have a question....
Exist any driver to use Adaptec 2906 scsi card with OS X? or OS X auto recognizes the card??

many thx

Did not test card yet but I know I can't sleep my G4 400 AGP /no gig ether - funny sauce my machine will deep sleep in OS 9

I'm Running a PM G4/450 with a scsi 2930 and works fine with betas of OS X, mac sleeps perfect, but I can't tryed a final version of Os X yet. When I test I'll post a resume of problems with this cards.

I'll tell you now that no you can use your scsi card. I have the adaptec 2940 Dual, X won't boot up with the card in it. So when want to play with X, I haave open up my computer everytime to take it out. When I want to use my Nice Microtek Scanner x6EL, Tape drive, Jaz Drive. Well you what i have to do.

I wish Apple had told us before we brought the NEW OS, that we won't have scsi use.

Have you tried it with a real terminator fitted, as opposed to the software termination? I ripped mine out (2906 card) to install OS X but then I read later on that in order for the OS X disc to boot with a 3rd party SCSI card, you have to install a terminator. I will try that soon, but I was wondering if anyone else had?

Regards,

malcolmx

Originally posted by malcolmx
Have you tried it with a real terminator fitted, as opposed to the software termination? I ripped mine out (2906 card) to install OS X but then I read later on that in order for the OS X disc to boot with a 3rd party SCSI card, you have to install a terminator. I will try that soon, but I was wondering if anyone else had?

Regards,

malcolmx

OK malcolmx I'll try a physical terminator, then I'll post a message telling if it works.....

I to have a 2906 scsi card, which was in my mac but i have ripped it out and put it into my PC so i can still burn Cd's. I read up on the adaptec page that they will be supporting OSX.