my hate/love relationship with CSS

ony_gosshamer

a.k.a. dundee
This is a digital SOS from Quebec, Canada.

I'm having problems. I'm preparing the all-css (yeh!) layout for my first blog and because i'm a self-taught web-designer, there are problems i just can't solve on my own.

I found that some of you have very good knowledge of CSS and such, so this is where I hope you guys come in:

The main problem is the layout. The html is there to receive the Movable Type code afterwards.

These are the two files:

http://pages.infinit.net/kfff/pifpaf/index.html

http://pages.infinit.net/kfff/pifpaf/pp_styles.css

I don't understand two things:
- Why the background color of the ".main_space" class is white.
- Why IE places the navigation panel in the center.

Things I know:
- Safari tends to render everything better that IE: when I position everything in relative mode the ".main_space" background color is there but the layout is all over the place in IE (not safari).
Things I don't know:
- The difference beween "Class" and "ID" and "Span". I use the "class" everywhere, maybe that's the problem...

thanks a bunch in advance for your help guys

I'm really bad at understanding other peoples' code, so I'm afraid I can't help ya there, but I can try to explain Class v. ID v. Span (v. Div)...

The class attribute is used to indicate something is a particular uhm, class of something. For example: p class="footnote" could be wrapped around every paragraph that's a footnote, and you could style the whole site's footnotes a certain way.

The id attribute is similar to class, but instead of identifying a multitude of objects, it's used for singling out one in particular. p id="summary" might be used to designate a one-paragraph summary of an article.

In short: class and id are simply ways of making standard XHTML elements a little different, as far as CSS is concerned. Two items on a page should not have the same id. That's what class is for.