My own first Mac

Status
Not open for further replies.

cyclyst1964

Registered
Hi,
I'm new on this forum and I'm a mac-newbie, so please cut me a little slack if my post seems long winded ,or out of place.
I just started learning about computers a few years ago when my boss gave one to me as a Christmas gift. It was an inexpensive pee-cee ( that's correct ,right?) .
Well since then , I've already grown sick and tired of the usual problems generally associated with ms weendows. I purchased a couple of books and started to teach myself a little bit about how to make use of Linux .
First Fedora Core1,then Fedora Core 3, Suse, and finally settling on Mandriva.
I'm no techie, but overall dependability has been much better since changing over. .....However, it still seems to require a bit of research and practice to do some of the things that most weendows users take for granted( they just point and click . No compiling etc. necessary .)

Then I paid a long overdue visit to my big brothers' home recording studio.
He has the whole place running from a eMac running on Panther!
He let me sit and play with his machine a little bit.
Wow!
I'm impressed! In no time I was mixing and editing like a pro!
Multimedia? No probs!
I was completely floored by the performance of that computer at only 1.42gig.
Then my brother told me about how macs do more work in the software and so can perform fast as x86 machines that are rated nearly twice the clock speed !

I was all ready to spring for a new iMac g5 . The only problem is that I had a very important surgery scheduled. Oh , I have insurance . It's just still expensive. Deductible and then twenty percent to all parties involved you know.
So I'm on a tight budget right now.
I'm thinking about buying an inexpensive used machine to play with and become familiar with OSX until sometime next year when I can afford something super-cool.

Tell me your thoughts on these machines that I've found.