MYSQL Users Sound Off

ohmelas

Registered
Hey Guys/Gals/Gifted Animals,

I'm coming from a Microsoft VB, Microsoft SQL, and Microsoft Access background. I've since been one of those switchers (I was a Mac user first you know being a musician and all).

I've been tinkering with REALbasic and love its ease of use. Nice like MS VB is. Okay so, I need a database with some music and need a client/server environment. They're using Peachtree to run things now and suck because they're pulling the entire file over the network eachtime the do something in Peachtree!

Tell me about MySQL and your experiences. Is it easy to deploy like Microsofts SQL Server? What will be my common hurdles in integrating with REALbasic? Any known issues that I should watch out for?

Doesn't REALBasic have a module or something to ease the use with MySQL? I recall seeing something about that awhile ago.

As long as you know SQL, you shouldn't have a problem with MySQL.

I've been using mySQL for the past 3 years.
Its friggin great. So much easier to manage then Oracle.

I know nothing about realbasic.
I do all of my mysql work for web sites, so I use php and perl.

I believe that there is a mySQL realbasic module out there somewhere. Google came up with 7000+ results, some might be helpful.

Big differences between mySQL and M$SQL (IMHO):
1. mysql appears to be more standards compliant then mssql (no suprise there).
2. mysql does not have a native GUI like mssql, its all command line SQL.
3. mysql is blazing fast, while mssql is...well...kinda poky.
4. mysql has a very small footprint, mssql.....we won't even go there
5. very good support for mysql in forums and mailing lists, I haven't found the same level of support for mssql in the same.
6. admin'ing mysql is a breeze compared to mssql
7. I've never had a virus destroy my data or infect my install of mysql, can't say the same for mssql.
8. mysql runs on OS X, windows and *nix, mssql runs on...you guessed it, windows only.