Need help learning Cocoa

iindigo

Registered
Hi!

I really want to learn cocoa. I'm new to programming, except for a little REALBasic. Where do I start? Please don't recommend books - I don't have the time or the money for them.

I do know one thing - Interface Builder is sweet :cool:

Well, I know you don't want to check out books, but I'll recommend one for others who might be reading this thread with the same question.

Kochan's Programming with Objective-C is brand new and very helpful for amateurs like me, as it assumes that you don't know C or advanced programming...which is good because every other Objective-C tutorial or book I've looked at for the most part assumes too much. If one doesn't have the money like me, just go to a Borders or something and sit in the cafe and read it. ;)

Heh don't you just love the borders cafe?

This Kochan's book, how advanced does it go? I'm looking to pick up a book soon on Obj-C. I do program in C, and I want to be able to get a book that will take me as far as a book can go before I just have to start learning through experience.

Would you recommend this one for me? If not, anyone else have a good one?
I will go search amazon now, although I still have the problem of being completely broke, and computer books are expensive...

Well, having finally found the time to look on amazon.com, I have decided the following 2 books look good:

Programming in Objective-C, by Stephen Kochan, and
Cocoa Programming for Mac OS X, by Aaron Hillegass

Because they total over NZ$100 it could be a while before I get them, but what the hell.