Need some server howto links.

camgangrel21

Mac Programer
Hi I just got a copy of 10.4 sever up and running on my old 2x450 Mhz G4 Power Mac running 1.25 GB or RAM and to many big hard drive to list here. What I'm looking for is some good setup and howto on the web for this Server I would like to host my own site and maybe ever others for free. and I want to setup a email part to it to. 2nd I was looking at doing live streaming media from here to. Now if anyone know of some good howto's on the web please post them. And if I can get my email server up and running right I might even do free email hosting to. I allways try to give back to those that help out.

Ok what is going on here I became part of this board because I need help I got and have given it. I'm not asking to much here. I'm new to the OS X Server way of doing things. I use to M$ Windows way of doing things. When it come to setting up a server. All I'm looking for is some good How to on setting things up. I have 10.4 Server and no I get this software 3rd party ok. So just the software and the #'s to make it work that was all. No setup anything. And no the guy I got this from is in the Army right over in the mass G.W. has made for are man and woman. So no I can't talk to him to find out how to do anything. Please help out. I'm just looking for some links to good setup guides ok. Thank you all for your time.

Most of what you need to do is going to be through the Workgroup Manager. It has all the controls for web serving (using Apache) and other services like file sharing and the like.

You could do this on a regular client version of OS X, however it would require manually editing config files and such. OS X Server gives you a nice GUI interface with which to do this configuration instead of having to get your hands dirty with config files.

Forgive me if I'm a bit off with the latest version of OS X Server. The last time I played with Server version was at 10.1.x. :eek: