New powermacs?

Wait. At least until a true DDR front-side bus is there (so you can justify to yourself the steep price of DDR RAM).

I check the apple store, macnn, macosx.com, macslash, macosrumors and macrumors.com about 3 times a day hoping for a pmac update :p

I might be wrong as I'm no expert - but I doubt there will be any new Desktop Macs for a few months.

But the next Macs should be great ones if you want to hold your breath THAT long! :)

Its the year of the notebook according to Jobs. Why put your money into a dying platform like the PowerMac?

Apple is very likely going to release new PowerMacs within the end of February. Or at least a slight price drop :)
But kendall has got a point, a PowerBook would probably be a better choice right now :)

last year I guess was the year of the consumer desktop (iMac, eMac), and this year it is the year of the notebook, so we see great new PowerBooks, possibly iBooks too later on, so my guess is they are going to do big stuff with towers in 2004. Interesting that the new 64 bit PowerPC processors from Motorola and IBM should be available about then. By then, QuarkXPress will be in OS X, and basically nobody will want or even need 9 anymore, so they could move on to the Next Big Thing in a year. Knowing Apple's recent trends and history, I'd say they already have a good idea of what they're doing in a year, so I guess when every pro is ready to trade up to X they'll say "...one more thing..." as the final push.

Originally posted by verlorenengel
I want to buy a new powermac.

Should I wait a month or two or buy now?

When are some updates expected anyhow?

updates should be soon.

It would be ridiculous to buy one now.

Let's think about the last few PowerMac updates

Aug 2002, Jan 2002, July 2001, Jan 2001

And you're going to buy one now before they are updated?