New to Mac, Slow, slow, slow downloads

redraider

Registered
I'm new to Mac. I just bought a Intel iMAC. I have no complaints so far except for my download speeds which I can't figure out. My old sony vaio pentium 4 will download at an average speed at about 720kb/s but my mac on the same network will only average about 250kb/s. On my sony I've peaked as high as 1.5mb/s, the mac has only peaked at 700kb/s. I tested the download speed by plugging my mac straight into my cable modem with no significant change from going through my linksys wireless router. I just find it sooo hard to believe that there is such a hugh difference between my old sony vaio and my new mac. Can anybody tell me anything, is this they way it's supposed to be. Just an FYI, I took my iMac to the genius bar, they put it on their 10/100 network and averaged 320kb/s but I still consider that slow considering my sony vaio on a 10/100 network can average 750kb/s. What is the link speed supposed to be for the Airport wireless card because I'm reading 54mb for the link speed compared to the ethernet of 100mb plugged into my linksys router.

I am betting that you are not measuring your Internet connection speed by timing the downloads of files of known size. Wintel users get all out of sorts because their Macs almost universally report slower speeds than their old machines. Often their old machines reported connection speeds that were greater than their ISP's advertised speeds.

Compare your Mac's connection speed to the speed that your ISP is selling you. If the two numbers are within 10% of each other, be satisfied in the knowledge that you now have honest numbers.

Sorry for my ignorance. So the test I should perform is, download a file with the size on both my intel pentium 4 and my imac and see if it is about the same speed?

I have a cable modem and they advertise

Maximum download speed of 4Mbps (or 6 Mbps). Speed range from 4.0 to 8.0 Mbps download speed.