New to programming, which language is better?

mtnbording

Registered
I'm new to programming and I just downloaded the Developers tools. I was wondering which language is easier to learn but you can do a lot of things with it. (C, Objective C, C++, Carbon, Cocoa, and Applescript.) If it helps I've done VERY little programming in AppleScript, and Basic.

thanks for your help,
Matt

Your list contains, in fact, only two types of languages:

- AppleScript, which is a pilot language designed for telling applications how to behave.

- C/C++/Obj-C are all ANSI-C languages. Carbon and Coca respectively are OS9/0SX and OSX-only applications.

Depending on what you are aiming at, either is good: to script your system, use AppleScript. To build complete applications, use the Obj-C tools.

For sure, AppleScript is simpler.

Do you mind to use the Java Programming Language?
It is portable, fast, easy to use, very supported, free, ....

C/C++ are useful to build CPU-intensive applications but aren't easy to mantain, debug .... Objective-C has many advantage over C/C++ but is "dead"; Java have the same advantage of Java, is more easy, has great application support to debug, profile, etc..., and have a great library to build Graphical User Interface.

Depending on the application to build there is the betetr Programming Language.

Feel free to ask more explanations.
(I use programming in C/C++ but my las applications was made in Java).

Bye_

Java is the way to go.
I've never come acrossed a better designed programming language than this!! heh.

ofcourse it's not easy writing GUI apps in Java as compared to just drawing it out in Interface Builder which uses Cocoa. But hey u could use a Cocoa-Java combo!!

objective-c isin't bad at all, it's better than c++ heh,

all languages are good, learn a few and get well-versed with them(i.e understand their pros and corns) thus, ur not limited to a perticular language.