OS X on Intel Box

Rahul

Registered
Hi All,

I am new to the Mac world and this may sound stupid but, can I run Mac OS X on a Intel Box? If possible, what do I need to do for a Intel Box with following config?

256M Ram, 20G HDD, PII 500Mhz, SiS Video Card.

no question is a stupid question.
The short answer : no

the somewhat longer one: no because it doesnt support the x86 (pentium/pentium clone)architecture, this has been discussed to death and the concensus is that apple will not move to that chip actitecture any time soon :)

welcome! :)

Admiral

I wouldn't necessarily say that the question is a stupid one... we can run windows on the mac with the help of virtual pc after all. actully if anyone wants to explain... if virtual pc can work, why isn't there a virtual mac?

Originally posted by thisbechuck
I wouldn't necessarily say that the question is a stupid one...

Have you heard of sarcasm?

And actually. For the record, the actual guts of X will run on a PC. BSD UNIX, which is the original base, is portable to anything from a pc, to a mac, to a frickin toaster-oven.

And Darwin, Apple's open source OS thingo, has been ported to x86.

we can run windows on the mac with the help of virtual pc after all. actully if anyone wants to explain... if virtual pc can work, why isn't there a virtual mac?

Because windows users are all either up themselves, and think Windows and all MS products rule the planet, or are smart, and use Linux, or some other *NIX.

we can run windows on the mac with the help of virtual pc after all. actully if anyone wants to explain... if virtual pc can work, why isn't there a virtual mac?

m$ and pc makers would never allow it. Once people see how the mac system really works then people would all want macs and the economic power structure would shift dramatically. ;)

or the other possible answer - put a piece of sh*t on a BMW and all it does is stink a little. Put a BMW on top of a piece of sh*t and that sh*t isn't going anywhere. :D