OSX speed on 604e?

Ripcord

Senior Lurker
Has anyone been able to install OS X on a 604e-based PPC (presumedly with R. Rempel's UtilityX)? If so, what have your experiences been with speed?

I'm brand new to the Mac world and just bought a PowerMac 7300/180 (8 gig, 256MB RAM), and I'd really like to install OS X on it (after trying out 9.1 and 8.6 for a while), but I'm wondering how bad performance will be (beyond the normal 10.0.4 problems). Is Classic unbearably slow? Is a G3 upgrade card required to make it bearable, or will I be okay?

Thanks
Ian

Thanks for joining the Mac community! Hope you find it to be as welcoming and pleasant as I have :)

As far as installing OS X on a 604e, its possible, but on your machine, I wouldn't recommend it. I had X installed on an 8600/300 w/ 256MB of RAM, and it was, shall we say, SLOW. It was usuable to a point, but not for much of anything requiring real productivity. Even surfing the web became an exercise after a while and I found myself booting back into 9.1 rather than wait almost 30 sec. to a minute just to launch IE 5.1 or OmniWeb. But it was cool nonetheless!

I hear that 10.1 doesn't run on Old World models at all – now, I'm sure that will be fixed by Ryan Rempel, my personal hero for bringing X to the old skool macs, but until it does, I'd say wait. 10.0.4 just isn't going to perform well enough to make it interesting, and it may even make you VERY frustrated. But once they get 10.1 working, I'll bet my two eyed teeth that while it probably won't be as snappy as my B&W G3 350 (itself an aging computer at this point), it'll be plenty useful and worthwhile.

just my 2¢
thedbp

how is the performance on 3rd party G3 or G4 upgrade cards for the 7500-9600 machines? Obviously memory, and hard drive access times also makes a big difference in performance.

Just curious if anyone has the same performance issues with an upgraded 604.