Parallels or Virtual PC?

Macjen

Registered
Hi everyone,

I'm very new to Mac and recently I bought a MacBook Pro. However, I can't switch completely from PC to this Mac as I still have two statistics softwares required Windows. I know Parallels and Virtual PC are very popular, but which one do you recommend? My MacBook Pro is the basic 2G, but I have increased the memory to 1.5G and 100G for hard drive space.

Thanks in advance,
Jenny;)

Short answer: Parallels.

Long answer: Virtual PC is an emulator made for PowerPC-based Macs, not Intel Macs like your MacBook Pro. It was never ported to Intel Macs, so if it would run at all (I'm not sure it would), it would be running Windows under not one, but TWO layers of emulation. That means it would run like a slug. Think ~150MHz Pentium. If even.

Parallels, on the other hand, would not be using any emulation. It's made for Intel Macs, and it runs Windows at full speed.

The real question for you is whether you should use Parallels or Apple's BootCamp. The big difference between the two is that Parallels lets you load Windows within Mac OS X, whereas BootCamp just lets you boot out of OS X and into Windows. The advantages to BootCamp are: A) It's free, and B) It includes drivers for your MacBook's graphics card. If you don't need great graphics performance (like for games) and you don't mind paying a little money, Parallels is a much more elegant solution.