Please help a PC user....

cbmeeks

Registered
Ok, I have been a long fan of the Mac. But, I am a computer programmer for an insurance company which forces me to use XP.

Anyway, a friend of mine is letting me borrow a spare Mac he has. It's a dual 1Ghz, OSX 10.1.5, 1G ram. I get to keep it for a YEAR!! I am going to try to create some programs for him for his other employees.

Anyway, I need some help on dropping/converting some PC habbits to this Mac.

1) On the PC, if I have a text field and I want to delete everything from my cursor to the END of the line, I would hold down "SHIFT->End" and it would select everything from the cursor to the end of the line. How do I do that on the Mac? In other words, how do I jump to the end of a line. Oh, I am using a Belkin standard (Windows) USB keyboard...not an Apple keyboard.

2) Why do sometimes simple commands take like 40 seconds or more? For example, I can be going through the system preferences just fine. But, I will click on the Users section and it will say "Loading" for like a solid minute. What gives? It doesnt do it all the time...just sometimes.

3) This is more of a general issue...not just Mac but it seems to happen more with a Mac. I have a USB optical mouse on every computer I use (PC's, Mac, laptops, etc). I don't use a mouse pad. When I move the mouse funny...like in an angel...the cursor jumps all over the place. It happens in Windows too. Any clues? Should I get a good mouse pad?

THANKS!!

cbmeeks

Wow, thats a pretty impressive machine to have on loan.

1) Its the same in some programs, such as MS Office. Other programs however will use Apple-Right and Apple-Left instead of the End and Home keys respectively.

2) Often this is due to a permissions or caching issue. I'd suggest using the disk utility to repair permissions (You'll find it under Applications --> Utilities) and then clear the System Preferences items from your [home]/Library/Caches folder.