Please help, I can't open any files with Word anymore!

morning

supernew
Oh man! I am in the middle of two big essays. I do all my work on this computer.
I was messing around trying to figure out how to file share with my desktop pc. I turned on file vault. I don't really even know what it does. It said I needed to clear my trash because there was not enough memory to run file vault. I did that, then my Word won't open from the dock. So I turned off file vault. My Word keeps jamming. I can open a new document but I can't open anything in my files.

what have I done? what do I do now? should I reinstall it? should I uninstall it?
will any of my work be lost? I am guessing not because I can open the files with appleworks. geez this is pretty bad timing. Any ideas?? I suppose that everything from my trash is gone,gone,gone huh?
Is there any site where I can ask these sort of total newbie questions?

You can try deleting the word.plist file in your home directory under /Library/preferences. I have found MS office applications can suffer from corrupt preferences files. Be aware that any menu customisation you might have done will be lost though.

Tommo said:
You can try deleting the word.plist file in your home directory under /Library/preferences. I have found MS office applications can suffer from corrupt preferences files. Be aware that any menu customisation you might have done will be lost though.

Tommo,
when i look in that file I see no word plist at all. but when i searched in the spotlight for microsoft word plist, there was listed a file called com.microsoft.Word.plist. and when I "get info" it lists the file as being in the folder under /Library/preferences.. any ideas on this one? of course I don't even know what a plist is. Anyway, I would like to try to trash it, especially if it is acting up like this.

'